The Larisa castle of Argos lies 289 meters high overlooking the town of Argos on the prominent cone-shaped hill called “Larisa”, which was named after from mythical Pelasgus’ daughter, Larisa.
The castle was first built in approximately 1800 B.C., as its large stones testify, which the remains of the cyclopean are walling. Inside its walls the history of the city emerges, as we can find elements of various eras, from the Middle Ages of Copper, the Late Archaic (5th – 4th century B.C.), the Byzantine, the Frankish, the Turkish rule and the Venetian rule era. During the 5th and 6th century B.C. the Argeans repaired the walls and completed them following the style of the older civilizations. In the Middle Byzantine Age, during the 10th century A.D. the medieval castle was built. The following rulers of the castle from the 13th to the 15th century A.D., who were Frankish and Venetians, continued with repairs and additions. The walls of the ancient Acropolis were replaced with medieval ones and new walls were erected enclosing the old ones. The current form of the castle is dated mostly on the Late Byzantine and Frankish period with some later additions.
The castle has two yards, a wider external one 200m long and a smaller internal one 70m long. In the internal yard someone can find the ruins of a Christian temple of Theotokos that is dated on the 12th century A.D., four water tanks and two ancient temples, one devoted to god Zeus of Larisa, on which the temple of Saint Marina was built in 1859 and another one of the goddess Athena Polias.
The castle also had a key role during the Greek Revolution of 1821. In 1822 after Dramalis’ arrival in the city, the castle was taken over by D. Ypsilantis and a squad of 700 warriors that kept Dramalis’ forces busy, helping Th. Kolokotronis to gather army. However, in July 24th of the same year they abandoned it after a decoy followed by the victorious battle of Dervenakia.
In 1922 the castle was characterized as a preservable monument and today various cultural events are organized there. The access to the castle can be done by car, while the view from the inside is enchanting, as the magnificence of the camp of Argolis lies below it.